Get legal help now, call for your FREE consultation.
Workers’ compensation benefits are benefits available to an employee who has been injured in a workplace injury. To claim workers’ compensation benefits, the employee must report the injury immediately to his or her employer and then file a workers’ comp claim for the injury.
Workers’ compensation includes necessary medical care for treatment of and recovery from the injury or illness.
Additionally, workers’ compensation allows for a certain amount of cash benefits dependent on how disabled the employee is after the injury or illness. Additional benefits in the form of supplemental benefits, social security benefits, and death benefits, are also available. The combination of all benefits for workers’ compensation is capped at $215 per week.
Medical and treatment costs are paid immediately and do not depend on the length or classification of the injury. Cash benefits are paid to claimants who are partially disabled and unable to work for more than seven days. The New York State Workers’ Compensation Board provides categories of disability. Cash benefits are calculated on a percentage basis of the employee’s wages, and the amount of weeks that cash benefits may be paid to an employee is determined by what is called the loss of wage-earning capacity. The loss of wage-earning capacity is typically determined by the treating worker’s comp physician, the workers’ compensation insurance company, and definitions under New York law.
The employee has lost his or her wage-earning capacity partially, and only on a temporary basis. Benefits are available for a certain number of weeks based on the employee’s loss of wage-earning capacity.
The employee has totally lost his or her wage-earning capacity, but temporarily. Cash benefits are available for a maximum number of weeks that is based on the employee’s loss of wage-earning capacity.
The employee has lost part of his or her wage-earning capacity on a permanent basis. There are two types of permanent partial disability
When the employee reaches maximum medical improvement (MMI), the severity of the employee’s disability is determined. MMI is presumed under New York law to max out at two years after the date of the injury.
The wage-earning capacity is lost permanently and totally. In this case, there is no limit on the amount of weeks workers’ compensation may be paid to the employee.
Serious and permanent disfigurement to the face, head or neck may allow the employee to be compensated up to $20,000, depending on when the employee was injured.
New York contains statutory maximums under the law that bar a workers’ compensation claim after a certain time frame. This means you only have a certain amount of time to file your workers’ compensation claim after your injury before you are unable to do so under the law. New York Law requires employees to report the accident within 30 days of its occurrence. If you develop other injuries from the injury, you have up to two years to file a claim. Specifically, the New York State Workers’ Compensation Board provides the statutory maximum for filing a claim as:
It is extremely important to report workplace injuries right away and to seek medical treatment and legal advice so that you are not barred from receiving any benefits you are rightfully entitled to.
Don’t rely on the preliminary workers’ compensation determination without doing your research. An experienced workers’ comp attorney in New York can interpret the laws to your benefit, and make sure you receive the maximum amount of benefits you are entitled to. I
f you have been injured in a workplace injury, don’t let an insurance company minimize your injuries and shortchange your benefits. A New York expert workers’ compensation lawyer can walk you through the process, and make sure you get the benefits and treatment you rightfully deserve.
Copyright © Injured Call Today. NY / NJ Pain & Injury Clinics. All Rights Reserved.